Financial resources

The national currency of Equatorial Guinea is the CFA franc (Communanté Financiére Africaine). Here, the ISO-4217 code for the Franc CFA is "XAF". The CAF franc is the official currency in 14 African countries, most of which are former French colonies: Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Cameroon, the Republic of Congo, Chad, the Central African Republic, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d´Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal as well as Togo. The following bank notes are valid and in circulation in this country: 10,000 XAF, 5,000 XAF, 2,000 XAF, 1,000 XAF and 500 XAF.

1 CFA franc = 100 centimes

The Euro/CFA franc exchange rate always remains the same, since the CFA franc is firmly fixed to the Euro: 1 Euro = 682,671 CFA francs (XAF).

The import of the national currency is permitted without caps; however, a declaration obligation applies. The export is subject to a limit of 50,000 CFA francs. The import and export of foreign currencies is permitted without caps.

Bata - a coastal city in Africa
Bata is the capital city of the mainland region Mbini in the territory of Equatorial Guinea and of the province Litoral.

As of 2008, Bata had approximately 207,765 residents - and is the country's largest city.

>> more information
Bild mit Elefanten © Janine Grab-Bolliger / PIXELIO /